LPSO News Blog
6/2/2014 by Brennan Matherne
The Lafourche Parish Sheriff’s Office will host two FREE Hunter Safety Courses this summer for anyone ages 10 years or older. These two-day courses cover topics such as hunter responsibility and ethics, how firearms work and firearms safety, survival and first aid skills, firearm handling skills and hunting techniques, wildlife identification, game care, and information related to wildlife conservation and management.
The first course will begin with the classroom portion on Thursday, June 26 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Lafourche Parish Sheriff's Office Law Enforcment Complex located at 1300 Ridgefield Road in Thibodaux. The following day, Thursday, June 27, the class will move to the LPSO Shooting Range (3451 Highway 182, Raceland) from 8 a.m. until 11 a.m.
Our second summer course will take place Thursday, July 31 and Friday, August 1. The classroom portion will be held on Thursday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. at the Lafourche Parish First District #3 Galliano Station located at 17462 West Main Street. The class will then resume on Friday at the LPSO Shooting Range from 8 a.m. to 11 a.m.
Participants must attend BOTH days of class and pass a written and practical exam to be certified. The class is FREE, but class size is limited, so you must register in advance. Registration is available online through the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries. Here are the links to Register: June 26-27 Course | July 31-August 1 Course
For more information, or for assistance with online registration, call the LPSO Training Academy at (985) 449-4480 weekdays from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
ABOUT LOUISIANA HUNTING LICENSES:
Anyone born after September 1, 1969, who wishes to obtain a hunting license in Louisiana, must successfully complete a hunter education course. Exceptions may be granted by the Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries for active or veteran members of the United States armed services, for any P.O.S.T.-certified law enforcement officer, or for persons who are under the direct supervision of a person 18-years or older who is already licensed and has taken the approved course. Exceptions must be applied for and approved by Department of Wildlife and Fisheries.